Tieks: a different review

Hii everybody,

This review about Tieks flats  is a little bit different from other post for some reasons:

1) I am young man that wear flats as his everyday shoes. Well, it is not a secret that for me ballet flats has become my favorite kind of shoes for many reasons mainly because I love colorful shoes, second,  l hate to wear close shoes with socks unless  it’s winter and I don’t have choice, I love the comfort that my flats provide to my feet, I have flat feet and I must do feet exercises to reinforce my arches (Honestly  with my former men shoes it was bothering to unlace, take them off, and remove socks three times a day ) and finally I do a lot of activities that require to slip off my  shoes often. So flats, sandals and mules have become a nice comfortable option.

2) My first experience with this brand wasn’t as expected. My first experience with this famous brand wasn’t as I expected because my first pair a cute black matte flats, had the elastic too tight that they tended to close like a clam that gave me pain in the top of my foot and I am pretty sure I didn’t break them in for more time before wearing outdoors. That was a huge mistake because I couldn’t return them to Tieks, but as some of my girl friends wear same ladies shoe size than I , I sold them to one of them and for her they worked better, so I could recover a good part of my money.

3) I loved the colorful range of this brand of ballerinas, and I wanted to give them a second chance. As a ballerina flats wearer I was still curious why this cute flats didn’t work the first time, so  I bought two  pre-owned pairs of Tieks to test them before decide to invest in this expensive brand again. I wore them constantly for about seven months as they were broken in I didn’t have problem with them, no blisters no smelly feet just a pair of beautiful flats that feel like slippers. The colors are cobalt blue and gold. This could be a good option if you don’t want to spend a lot of money  and then you can test them and know if you like them and overall if you find them comfortable.

These are the pics of my pre-owned Tieks:

101_3087

101_3103

After getting positive results in terms of fit and comfort, then I saved the money from my birthday’s gifts along with a gift card from my cousin, so I bought a new pair of Tieks in navy blue, I prefer neutral colors at first when trying a new brand of shoes and then if I like how they look on my feet and if I find the comfortable to wear for long period of time (6-7 h/day).

Let’s start my review:

First impression, I loved how nicely the packaging of this shoes is

101_3113

I found the bag for the heels and the small pouch practical to keep your shoes protected and also your good in your hand bag. Really I like they box and the handwritten letter to me despite being maybe their only or among their few male customers, it’s a really nice detail that counts a lot as a client.

After opening white box, I discovered the beautiful turquoise box, and after reading the nice hand written letter to me , I opened the blue box to pick my new Tieks:

This is how they look on my feet:

101_3105101_3106

I really like how this cute flats make my feet looks slender and in my case my feet and Tieks doesn’t look like some ladies said “Alien feet”, haha I am lucky to have small average feet for a guy.

Comfort factor:

This is the point that divide many ladies and guys that wear flats. After reading many wonderful and helpful reviews from ladies that had tried this brand I could said that 50 % find them comfortable right out the box and the other 50%  find that this flats need a break in period and from this percentage some of them send their Tieks back because they didn’t find them comfortable or they hurt too bad. And I don’t blame them, I also had some pain on my feet the first days when I wore them.

The main issues for me were: in the left shoe the flats pinched my big toe and in the right shoe the elastic where the bone of my big toe starts hurt bad and left a red mark in that part of my feet, you can see how my feet was the first days of trying this cute flats:

101_3145

101_3144

Despite the red marks I never got blisters when breaking in this flats and something that I love of this flats is the cushioned heel cup that doesn’t dig into my heel, like my Lucky brand flats or Hush Puppies  Chelsea flats.

If you need extra cushion in the ball of your feet, I found this video from Jessica Petite Style Script,  and her great blog: 

http://www.petitestylescript.com/tieks-ballet-flats-review-work-busy-professionals/

that offers a solution for this issue:

Something important to tell you is that Tieks doesn’t have arch support (I think most ballet flats don’t have it except for few brands) and in my case I have flat feet so  I add a arch support that help me to make more comfortable my Tieks.

101_3220

The inner support that Tieks has in my case is fine for my feet. If you have worn Puma Ferrari Drift Cat III sneakers, Tieks insoles feels like this casual sneaker. But as a customer I would like that my Tieks would have more cushion in the heel area or add a kind of hide heel and arch support for more comfort.

Conclusion: For comfort this flats are fine for me when when I will walk  or standing for 5 or 6 hours on my feet.

In my opinion they need extra cushion in the heel and ball of the feet areas and  arch support. But if you have average arches you will find them comfty. High arches will have also some issues with this brand.

Ladies and gentlemen , with this flats you will develop at the beginning a hate-love relationship, but the more you wear them the more comfortable they’ll become. It’s a question of patience and persistence  but after that period of time you will find them more comfy.

Breaking in period:

In my case I found that this flats need a long period of break in, personally it took me almost a month to wear them in many different ways to make them more comfortable so I wrote a post HOW TO BREAK IN YOUR TIEKS where I describe what I did to break them in reducing the pain and bothering zones of this flats.

 After wearing alternately for a month I could said that they feel now more like my ballet slippers but with a sneaker sole, so I tested them when going to the grocery store carrying some heavy bags and I feel comfortable when walking with them. Of course I only wear them twice or three time a week at max because my feet need flats with more heel or cushion in the heel and ball of the feet areas.

Sizing:

Again a subject of discussion, sizing, because this brand doesn’t offer half sizes, and you cannot try them on at any shoe store. Risky decision for many of us. Tieks recommends:

  • Wear a full size?

That’s your Tieks size! If you wear a 7, get a 7 in Tieks.

  • Attention half sizes!

Many women who wear half sizes can comfortably size up or down. We typically suggest going down unless you have a wide foot or sometimes size up.

 

In my experience I usually wear women shoe size US 9.5 or 10 depending the brand. As a gold rule that my Mom always told me: your shoes should have a gap about the size of your own thumb between  your big toe  and the end of the tip of the shoe in order to be comfortable, avoid ingrown nails, bunions, stress fractures and also in summer our feet tend to get swollen so they’ll increase their size. Therefore I chose size 10. Personally with flats with elastics I prefer to let that distance in my shoes to get some room to avoid the reasons cited above, and this is the gap that I have in my Tieks:

101_3190

 

Even with this gap my Tieks don’t slip off  when walking fast as the elastic hold my feet well. They show some toe cleavage but it doesn’t bother me at all. As reference my feet measures 10 1/8″ long by 3 1/2″ width and my Tieks soles measures 10 3/4″ length and 3 5/8″ at its widest part, so you can get an idea of the sizing of this shoes.

Unless your feet is really narrow and tiny, size down, if not personally I recommend to size up to avoid painful issues if you are between sizes.

Durability:

Well in my opinion I could say that this flats are well made and have good quality leather, so after trying the cobalt blue and the gold flats (I’ve been wearing this color 3 times a week after my job for going to evening courses) no stop for 7 or 8 months and my navy ones for 6 months twice a week and as the former owner of my cobalt and gold Tieks, Jen, told me that:

“I wore the cobalt Tieks less regularly, maybe once every three weeks or so for two years.

The gold Tieks I had for a year and a half and wore 2 times a week, except for
During the winters.”

If you make the addition of time, the cobalt blue flats are almost 3 years and they still look in good condition and the gold flats despite all the scuffs are 2 years but with a very constant wear from Jen and by me.

You can see some scuffs in the heels of my pre-owned flats:

in my experience this flats are made to last and the 3 pairs, that I currently have, have held up really well. Metallic colors tend to scuff easily and show wear faster but the soles and structure of my 3 pairs are still in good condition, as shown in the pictures:

101_3206

Verdict: this brand of flats are durable and well made, but keep in mind that are handmade and in some pairs manufacturing flaws could occur in those cases, don’t hesitate to contact the Tieks customer service.

Breathability (or in other words: does this flats get smelly quickly?)

I wear all my flats barefoot, with Tieks my feet get sweaty in summer cause  they don’t allow your feet to breath very well so the insoles of my three pair have dark foot marks but for my surprise they are not smelly, just the insoles of the gold ones have a very light odor but only when I stuck my nose on them, I slipped off these flats to take my yoga or dance courses and nobody has complained (yet lol) or I notice a strong bad odor from them.

101_3202

If you are concerned or if you notice that your Tieks are a little bit sweaty and smelly I found these  tips, from a nice blogger Jessica, very helpful and practical, you can check her video here:

or this other tip from another nice blogger, Katie, to eliminate odors and friction in your Tieks:

Here is the link:  https://www.asprinkleoflife.com/2016/05/an-honest-tieks-review/

By the way I always wear my flats barefoot and Tieks are not the exception, and all people’s feet sweat but the Tieks’ insoles are made of good Italian leather so they don’t get smelly easily as shoes that  have manmade insoles.

Price:

I will be honest this flats are really expensive, the classics are US $175, but taking in count that they are handmade and the quality of the materials is far superior than other many brands that I tried before, I think  these facts could justify in part their price. Maybe just my Tory Burch minnie travel flats and my Frye Carson flats have the same quality of leather and in consequence have similar range of price. These flats are obviously an investment, and I believe that a comfortable pair of shoes is always worth the money … divide that cost by the number of days & hours that you wear them and the cost is pennies per day.

If you want to test this brand without purchasing them full price there are always pre-owned Tieks at eBay, Etsy, Poshmark, and Lyst a good price.

I also wrote a post about “Flats that have similar look and comfort as Tieks but more affordable where I describe other brands that I have in my shoe collection that are really comfortable but more affordable with a respectable quality and also beautiful.

Where I can buy a pair of Tieks?

They are just sell online at their site: Tieks.com

Do Tieks squeak while walking?

Yes, they squeak ,  but just at the beginning and I think is only in the inner shoe because my feet rubs against the insole. After  2 weeks the sounds disappeared.

Which colors would you suggest to purchase?

I suggest to start with the classics and neutral colors such as chestnut, camel, ballerina pink, navy or black. Then you can move to other colors and textures. Personally, I try to avoid the metallic colors cause they scuff easily, the leopard or animal print because the leather is not as soft as the classic ones and  the patent ones because as I read in other blog they are harder to break in. But It’s only my opinion. I never tried the vegans so I can’t give you an answer how they feel.

How you keep your Tieks?

I keep them open to air them well after wearing again.

How many hours do you wear your Tieks per day?

I can wear them between 5 to 6 hours /day.

Do you wear often your Tieks?

I can wear them 2 or 3 days per week at maximum, and if I wouldn’t  walk miles or standing on my feet more than 5 hours, because as I have flat feet I need other flats or sandals (Birkenstock in my case)  with more support in the heel area.

Do you recommend this flats for people with plantar fasciitis?

Definitely No. Please if you have some problems with your feet consult your podiatrist before purchasing any kind and brand of ballet flats. Save your feet and money for more complex health issues.

Tieks refund policy:

If you live in the U.S, trying this good quality brand is not a risky business, so  if you find that you feet is in a lot of pain after one week of wearing them even with socks don’t hesitate to ask for the upper size to compare both pairs on your feet, in the worst of the cases if neither of the two shoes are enough comfortable or don’t meet your expectations you can return them and get a refund,  ALWAYS REMEMBER that you should wear your Tieks at home in case you want to send them back.

But if you worn them outdoors and you don’t find them comfortable or you have a lot of pain while wear them or just you don’t like the color or how they look in your feet, you can sell them at eBay, List, Etsy, Tradesy and you will recover a good amount of your investment because this brand is always in high demand.

If you live outside U.S., like me, the shipping fee and custom taxes are high(almost CAD $40 using FedEx), and also if you need to sent your Tieks back it will cost you at least CAD $ 22. In this case as I said before if you are in between size , size up to avoid return expenses.  I tried to provide the most information I could describe based in my own experience along tips from other blogger about this brand to help you to take a better decision when considering to get and try a pair.

Do you recommend Tieks?

Yes, I recommend them for the quality, durability and beauty of the shoes BUT keep in mind that in some cases, they will need a good break in period of time to become more comfortable. I  also recommend them only if you have the budget to purchase a pair or if you are committed to wear them very often to see the return of your investment.

If you live outside the U.S. I suggest to try a pre-owned pair or if one of your friends have a worn pair maybe you can ask her to try her Tieks if you both wear same shoe size, before making the big investment.

After trying at least 50 brands of flats I conclude that there aren’t perfect shoes, and that comfort depends of every person’s feet.

Improvements that I suggested to Tieks:

  • Add more cushion in the heel area and ball of the feet
  • Place a less tight elastic in the shoes, especially in the toe area
  • Add an arch support
  • Make half sizes

Disclaimer: I am not associate or sponsored by Tieks or with any other company or blogger, I paid full price for all my Tieks and it’s only my solely opinion about this brand.

I hope my review will help you to make a better decision while thinking to purchase or not this brand of flats. I will do an update of my navy Tieks in the next few month to see how they resist the everyday wear. I here are some pics of me wearing my Tieks:

I want to thanks specially to the nice bloggers: Jessica, Susan, Ame, Philia, Susan, Jenna, Ruth, Brianna and Emily that send me their tricks and kind responses to my questions about this brand

If you have Tieks let me know what you think about them

Thanks for visiting my blog and have a nice day !!

Ivan

15 thoughts on “Tieks: a different review

  1. Thanks again, Ivan, for another amazing review. I have been considering Tieks for a year but I’ve been hesitant to pull the trigger on such an expendive purchase without seeing them in person or finding really hood, honest reviews.

    I appreciate the time that you’ve taken to give a full review and to explain how you arrived at your conclusions. The information you’ve provided is so helpful.

    I love your site and I always recommend it to friends and family. I cannot tell you how much time and aggravation you’ve saved me!

    Looking forward to your next posts – thanks again!

    Jody

    Liked by 2 people

    • Hi Jody,

      Thank you very much for visiting my blog. I am glad you found helpful my review and that you would have a better idea of this brand of flats. I understand you well, it’s not easy to try a pair of shoe without seeing them in person and trying at the shoe store before purchasing, that’s the reason I wanted to share a detailed review of my personal experience with this cute flats.

      Have a good day !

      Ivan

      Like

  2. Hi Ivan, I really enjoyed reading about your experience with Tieks. I’ve wanted a pair for a few years but I also have flat feet but additionally, they’re quite wide, and I didn’t think they would fit me right for the money. I have a pair of the J. Crew leather flats and they are so narrow my foot basically hangs off the side. I wish I could wear Tieks but I don’t know if I can justify $175 if they are not wide. They looks fabulous on you, though! Thanks again for the very thorough review. xoxo

    Nout

    Liked by 3 people

    • Hii Nout,

      Thank you very much for visiting my blog again and for your kind comments. I can understand you because with flat feet some shoes make us feel more tired due the lack of arch support. I also emphatise with you because even when we can try shoes at the store, it happens that the next day when we wore them at home they don’t feel as comfty as they felt in the store, so with Tieks the risk is higher because we can’t try them at the shoe store to see how they look and feel in our feet and also the high price. Instead of a blind date is a blind purchase haha. Maybe you would like to check my other post about flats that have similar comfort than Tieks but they are more affordable. Have you ever tried Camper Nina right flats ?This MJ flats are very suitable for average to wide feet and they are super comfortable right out the box.

      Have a nice day !!

      Ivan

      Like

  3. Hi Ivan,
    Amazing review! I love how detailed it is and how you have shared your personal experience here. Thank you again for including my videos in your post! So kind of you!

    I like how you added in the tip on the arch support option. I haven’t had a problem here but I know others definitely will find this helpful. I love my SockShion for the ball of my foot; can’t wait for it to come back in stock in January!

    ~Jessica | http://www.petitestylescript.com/

    Liked by 3 people

    • Hi Jessica,

      Thank you very much for commenting on my post and also to allow me to share your great and helpful videos, they provide more information and help to those persons that are considering to purchase a pair of Tieks flats. I also hope that the Sockshion will be in stock soon to get a pair and try them on when wearing flats.

      Have a nice day !

      Ivan

      Like

  4. A very informative review Ivan! My flats are all non-leather and I have used baking soda too. I try to wear different shoes every day to give them a chance to air. The insoles are a good idea for those who need them. I love all your colourful flats and shirts, you look fantastic!

    Have fun with fashion, my friend!

    ❤ carmen

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Carmen,

      Thanks a lot for visiting my blog. I have few pairs of manmade flats because my feet tends to sweat a lot in them to solve that situation I also alternate them with my leather flats, a different pair everyday to avoid smelly flats and/or feet and an excuse to get an extra pair from time to time lol. Baking soda works great to deodorize shoes, I tried that tip specially on summer and I had great results. Thanks for your kind comments about my outfits paired with flats, and I will continue to have fun with fashion !

      Have a nice day 🙂

      Ivan

      Liked by 2 people

  5. A good friend of mine purchased my dream flats (California Navy Tieks) for me when he traveled to Arizona recently. It was much appreciated, as it saved me the shipping (to Canada) and tax. I absolutely love these shoes. The leather is amazing. They are super comfortable. So far I have been wearing them mainly indoors. Can’t wait to wear them outside once the snow melts. Thanks to your great blog review and Jessica’s fantastic YouTube videos I decided to make the purchase.I recently sent emails to Tieks to encourage them to start marketing them to males , as well. My email was as follows” I’m a male that has a pair of California Navy Tieks. They are truly amazing shoes. What’s really nice is how they mold to my feet. This is especially beneficial when you have feet like mine that are not exactly the same size. My wife is now considering purchasing a pair of Tieks. The Tieks sit beside my Tom’s in the closet, but, they are my “go to” shoe now. I know of a number of males that love their Tieks ballet flats. Like the Tom’s they should be a marketed as a unisex shoe”. In addition, I sent her the Repetto link promoting their ballet flats to men. Alexa, from Tieks, said she was going to pass on my recommendations to their team. Who knows, Tieks “the ballet flat reinvented” may have a new advertising campaign. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    • Hi Pinkpanther,

      Thanks for visiting my blog ! I am really glad that my review and the wonderful videos from Jessica made you decide to get this really comfortable and beautiful flats. It’s great that you have a really good friend that could bring them to you without the high shipping and taxes fees.

      I completely agree with you, Tieks flats could be the next unisex ballet flats cause they offer a full range of sizes and colors that every lady and gents have the choice to pick the pair that they like the most. Your wife should get a pair of Tieks; she will love them, you both could look awesome wearing your Tieks together outdoors.

      I recently got 2 pre-owned pairs in black matte and chestnut that match wonderful with any outfit: shorts, capris, leggings, jeans , slacks. Purchasing pre owned Tieks saves me money and the breaking process in this flats and also it’s a ecological way to re use shoes and save natural ressources.

      I hope the team Tieks will start to considering your proposal and soon their slogan could be “the ballet flat reinvented for All”

      Have a nice day

      Ivan

      Liked by 1 person

      • Great conversation about your Tieks and making them unisex. Tieks doesn’t advertise their shoes as unisex or list the women’s size with an equivalent men’s size. But what they do offer is large women’s sizes in almost every colour. If guys like us (or any other guys out there) are interested in getting a pair it’s easy to convert our men’s size into a women’s size and see if there’s a pair of Tieks that might work for us. Companies like Tieks (or Tory Burch) don’t list their shoes as unisex, but I know they don’t mind it when us guys buy ourselves a pair. One company that does list their cute shoes as unisex is Flossy. If you haven’t heard of them check them out. http://flossyshoesnig.com/about-us/

        Liked by 2 people

  6. Great conversation about your Tieks and making them unisex. Tieks doesn’t advertise their shoes as unisex or list the women’s size with an equivalent men’s size. But what they do offer is large women’s sizes in almost every colour. If guys like us (or any other guys out there) are interested in getting a pair it’s easy to convert our men’s size into a women’s size and see if there’s a pair of Tieks that might work for us. Companies like Tieks (or Tory Burch) don’t list their shoes as unisex, but I know they don’t mind it when us guys buy ourselves a pair. One company that does list their cute shoes as unisex is Flossy. If you haven’t heard of them check them, try a google search on them

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Bri,

      Thanks for visiting my blog ! Many ladies shoes’ brands make shoes in larger size for both ladies with large feet or guys like us that love to wear beautiful and comfortable shoes. As many ladies told me: Shoes are shoes so everybody can wear any kind of shoe that make us happy. And I totally agree. I checked Flossy site and they are quite similar to Toms, but not my kind of footwear. A brand that also sell unisex flats is softstar:

      http://www.softstarshoes.com/adult-ballerine-flat-1.html

      they state that they flats are unisex as “adult ballerine shoe” so many companies (I even think some ladies clothes manufacturers do the same, I got 2 pairs of capris that fit well myself and one of my cousins too) also think on us.

      Have a nice weekend

      Ivan

      Like

  7. I noticed that Tieks seems to post pictures of their customers in Tieks. Perhaps you should try and send them a picture and see of they will post it. Looks like it needs to be decent quality – perhaps something outside and colorful. Worth a shot to help promote ballet flats for men. I’m still saving up for my first pair of Tieks, but will probably do that when I get them.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Brenn,

      Thanks for visiting my blog ! When the weather will improve here I will ask some of my friends to take me some pics outside while wearing my Tieks and send some of them to Tieks and let see what happens . I hope you will get soon your Tieks, you can get them less expensive at eBay or joining a facebook Tieks groups. Have a nice day !

      Ivan

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

